Skip to content

Boredom and Baking: From the Unfinished Pile

06/27/2011
tags: ,

I suppose I would be lying if I was saying I was bored already after only 2 weeks since graduation, but apparently when my eyes are too tired to do any reading, I like to bake.

It’s good to have a big family to bake for because it’s guaranteed to get eaten and no one (unless you’re my thirteen year old sister) complains that I’m purposefully fattening them up.

I’ve come to the conclusion that cookies are mostly made of butter (or shortening, since butter’s been in short supply at our house between grocery runs).

What I have baked in the past two weeks:

1. whole wheat chocolate chip cookies: Recipe from the Gold Medal flour bag, but they wouldn’t mass publish it if it wasn’t good (right? I hope). Simple and tasty-tron. The great thing about whole wheat cookies is that they are rich enough that your teeth are singing from good-sugar-pain but the whole wheat fills up your stomach. You’ll feel sick if you eat more than two at a time. Satisfaction.

2. big soft ginger cookies: Just what they sound like. My sister would open the container they are in and sniff them. It was a toss up between making those or chocolate crinkle cookies, but I’m sure the crinkles will have their time soon.

3. coffee cookie brownies: They have a layer of sugar cookie on the bottom, then fudge brownie mixed with a little cooled coffee with chocolate chips generously sprinkled on the top. Guaranteed to have zero leftovers at church get-togethers.

Update:

Since writing this, I made #3 again for a church picnic (only brought home two, which were promptly eaten before the night was over) as well as #1 again for my little sister’s softball teammates AND

4. Clafoutis Grandmère: Tasty French cherry-cake, which, as best as the internet has told me, is crepe-batter in the shape of a cake with fruit suspended in it. I say YUM. We needed a quick way to finish off a large sack of rather ripe cherries, it was Father’s Day, who needs an excuse for baking. The best part was the book I took the recipe from: Kafka’s Soup by Mark Crick. Crick writes recipes in the form of stories as if they were penned by certain famous literary figures. The Clafoutis came from the pen of our dear Ms. Virginia Woolf and was quite entertaining to read the first time. When you’re trying to make the recipe though, you do have to read through the story again to get the embedded directions (which can be frustrating if you’ve lost your place in the stream of consciousness writing). Crick does a great job approximating literary voices–I recommend the Raymond Chandler and Chaucer especially.

The family has been feeling rather inundated with baked goods so I might have to lay off for a while. But oh DEAR it’s so much fun.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

