Skip to content

Dear Editor

09/23/2010

So.

As Editor of the Thorn who wants people to grow as writers, do I totally scan a piece of work for meter and leave red notes all over it and then send it back to them?

The fact I now know how to scan for meter and can feel when it’s off should make certain professors very proud.

I can’t be spending whole evenings fixing someone’s stuff, but at the same time, I don’t feel good about putting up a metrically problematic piece onto the web, PLUS I don’t want to just shuffle it away in my hard drive without trying to help out.

Intrinsically, I am one of those annoying people who tries to fix everyone’s problems/offer suggestions.

I suppose I should come up with some sort of list of things-I-will-do-and-things-I-won’t as editor so that I don’t mire myself in more work than I can do.

Yes, I’ve been entrusted with the position of editor for my college’s literary/arts publication, which I’m now making into a blog as part of sharing in the creative scene of awesome at said college.

Things are gonna get interesting–what with the balance of good writing/not stomping on people’s feelings/publishing diverse stuff (i.e. things I don’t necessarily LOVE)/not going insane.

Yes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

