Skip to content

Books, books.

05/27/2010

So now that school’s over, maybe I’ll start posting again.

InfSum hasn’t had any updates, so my boyfriend and I are taking things into our own hands for a blog about books.

We’re over at Annular Summer if any of you darling readers would like to join us. We’ve just started Gene Wolfe’s Castleview and are planning to read Roberto Bolaño’s 2666, which was the next project InfSum was going to tackle. There’s a nice site with info that will help us as we blog our way through another giant book. (well, we’ve never actually blogged through one together and I don’t know if my vocab stuff here for IJ was a legit blog. At least not a super interesting one)

Meanwhile, on the home front, I’ve just started Mark Z. Danielewski’s House of Leaves. This is going to be a challenging one, I think. No, I know. When you flip through and you see all kinds of white space and “house” in blue and an appearance of “yes this looks like what it’s supposed to look like, scraps of material and info all over the place,” it’s going to be challenging.
But Matthew Baldwin really likes it and if you’re determined enough… what could stop you?
I think I’ll do vocab here as well. I was at a softball game yesterday (little league girls, it’s a good idea to bring a book, but not HoL) and got to page 3 (intro comes first and was fascinating for setting the tone and maybe some of the themes? too soon to say). I had to log vocab on my phone because I hadn’t brought any good old pen and paper.

So there.
Welcome back to summer.

No comments yet

Leave a comment