Skip to content

Songs I fell in love with this summer.

08/26/2009

Certainly going to play these on some show, sometime in the future:

Carina Round – Backseat
– a Brit with a lovely voice; this song is a departure from her other albums that have more of a Patti Smith feel. The sound of the song is Spektor-esque and the piano+choir is absolutely wonderful.

Arkells – John Lennon
– Canadians. Can’t look at Canadians the same way since reading IJ but this song has 1. an infectious chorus, 2. John Lennon references, 3. sweet keyboards. YES.

Electric Owls – Magic Show
– Xylophone+ the use of the word “clairvoyant” in the first verse = love

Queen – Don’t Stop Me Now
– Really, I blame the wedding music video on this one. Particularly the /”I’m a tiger”/ segment.

Nada Surf – If You Leave (OMD Cover)
– I love the original song because of Pretty in Pink; I love this song because of the laconic feel.

Fleet Foxes (all of their songs)
– After seeing them in concert, this feeling is completely justified.

Pete Yorn – Lose You, EZ
– So why did it take me this long to get into Pete Yorn? I like sad songs.

The Darkness – I Believe in a Thing Called Love
– And I missed this when it came out back in high school. The lead’s falsetto makes me laugh.

The National – like, all of their songs, but especially The Geese of Beverly Road, Start a War, and City Middle
– As another music-lover once wrote, “The National is no secret.”

The Flaming Lips – Do You Realize?? and Fight Test
– The first song is now the official rock song of Oklahoma (the Flaming Lips’ home state) and the second is simply delicious.

MGMT – Electric Feel
– Ridiculous lyrics+dance music. (“/I said ooo girl/Touch me like an electric eel/”)

Michael Jackson – Baby Be Mine
– Glad to have been a fan before he passed away this year, but I hadn’t listened to the whole Thriller album (!! awful of me, yes).

Sufjan Stevens – To Be Alone with You
– Haunting, simple, beautiful.

As a side note, I definitely don’t claim to be on the cutting edge of music. There’s just too much out there to keep up with (for me, anyway). Nevertheless I love sharing the songs that I find or others sharing new/old music with me.
For instance, a friend of mine is now a fan of Death Cab for Cutie and Fleet Foxes (she came with me to the concert) thanks to some rather vigorous encouragement (me and another friend). We were absolutely shocked that she hadn’t really listened to DCFC, not so much concerning Fleet Foxes.
But that has been remedied– hurrah for friends who contribute to your musical education.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

