Skip to content

Oh, the pretension.

06/27/2009

Maybe if my head is swelled big enough, something of significance will fly from the wreckage when it finally explodes.

Yes, I named myself “Ex Kathedra.” No, my name isn’t Kathy, though it does start with a “kay,” lovely voiceless velar stop that it is.

Here’s my operational definition, provided by ablemedia.com/ctcweb/glossary/glossarye.html.

ex cathedra:
(Latin) literally “from the chair”; when someone speaks ex cathedra, (s)he appears confidently and with expertise.

I would say “appears confident” but maybe it is truly the entrance through the door made by said expert that overwhelms the audience with “absolute credulity.”
A TA-DAAAAAAA of intellectual proportion.

I don’t know how much blogging I’ll be doing here but I will be contributing regularly to The Arbiters of Taste, the soon-to-be triumvirate of culture connoisseurs.
We will consume media (printed/hypertextual, filmic, auditory) and give you, gentle readers, our brilliant thoughts.

Excited?
If you’re not, you should be.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

